Credit: University of Nottingham

The 2021 Varsity series between Nottingham Trent University and University of Nottingham “cannot be guaranteed” as both universities Sports Vice President issued a joint statement.

The series, which was due to take place in April, is being “discussed” and the universities are “considering every possibility.”

With no organised sport currently permitted in the UK due to the Covid-19 pandemic, a timetable has been difficult for both NTU and UoN to structure for the series.

we will do all we can to advocate for a series to take place
Zoe Clifton & Josie Jessop, VP’s for sport at the nottingham Universities

However, in an exclusive statement made to CBJTarget, both universities Vice Presidents for Sport have outlined their hopes that the series can go ahead.

NTU Men’s hockey team celebrate a varsity win from 2018 (image: Nottingham Trent University)

Zoe Clifton, the VP for sport at NTU, and Josie Jessop, the VP for sport at UoN, were keen to stress that if any of the events are able to take place they will need to be “safe for participants, officials, venues, and the public.”

The British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) leagues have been cancelled for the season because of the ongoing lockdown restrictions and the VP’s “understand the need and want for sport this year.”

Notts Varsity Series Facts

  • Largest Varsity series in Europe
  • UoN have won the last 8 series
  • 21 points up for grabs
  • Series traditionally begins in March
  • Sports include Ice Hockey, American Football and Basketball

The series takes place at venues across the two campuses as well as larger venues including basketball and ice hockey games at the 17,000 capacity Motorpoint Arena.

Both Clifton and Jessop are doing all they can to plan for a series and are still hopeful that there will be a 2021 varsity event.

“Being heavily involved with sport at university, we understand and share the need to have a varsity series this academic year,” they said.
“[We] will do all we can to advocate for a series to take place.”


By Sam Elliott