A Nottingham MP has resigned from pro-EU group after they published a list of Brexit-supporting MPs that have seats in constituencies that voted to remain.

Open Britain drew up the “attack list” on 20 constituencies which are held mostly by Tory MPs, with the aim of ousting them from their seat with the support of half a million people behind the campaign.

Anna Soubry, Tory MP for Broxtowe and prominent remain supporter, has stated she cannot support a campaign which seeks to overthrow her fellow Conservative MPs.

The name-and-shame list was published with the aim of limiting the proponents of a hard-Brexit.

Open Britain is a campaign group that was set up in the aftermath of the 2016 EU referendum. They support being open and inclusive, open for business, trade and investment.

They are also want Britain to be in the single market as part of the Brexit negotiations.

Earlier today, a man who called Anna Soubry’s office and said she should be “Jo Cox’d”, in reference to the MP who was shot dead the week before the EU referendum, has been jailed for eight weeks after admitting to the offence of sending a message that was grossly offensive or of a menacing nature.